I got one!

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by cbman, Jul 30, 2010.

1. cbman

cbman gnar! gnar! gnar!

I finally found a Schwinn cruiser! It's a 1964 Typhoon, ss. I'll post pictures of the restore. HAHA you'll have to excuse my friend in the back of the photo.

Attached Files:

2. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

Congrats! How old is that pic?

3. cbman

cbman gnar! gnar! gnar!

thanks man, the picture is about 4 days old hahaha I develop my own

4. TxCyclist

TxCyclist Administrator Staff Member Admin Staff

Look forward to move pictures, love the 60's Schwinn's.

You have your own DIY darkroom?

5. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

You need some contrast.

I miss my darkroom. Made my first prints 27 years ago. Our wedding photographer was young enough to have never shot film, and it shows.

6. cbman

cbman gnar! gnar! gnar!

yeah I'm still experimenting, only my 4th roll of true black and white. What would you suggest as far as shutter speed and aperture goes on a picture like that? I usually keep shutter speed on auto and set aperture around 5 f stop or so. Or is it me? Teach me, I must learn from the biking/developing masters hahaha. and it's not quite what the picture looks like either, I took a photo of the negative on the enlarger with a digital camera, put it on the computer and inverted it. There's quite a number of variables. But anyway, I opened the coaster hub yesterday and found the most worn out, tacky grease you'd ever seen. It was bad. Now it runs real smooth though. My plans were to make it into a tricked out Klunker bike. Are you guys into that style? I wouldn't want to change it too much though, I'd like to change the handle bars, put on a front drum, and if I could, change out the rear sprocket for something in the 20-24 range. Not sure if that last part is possible though, can I change the sprocket on a coaster hub? it didn't look like it last night.

7. funetical