I need help with lighting project.

Discussion in 'Gear & Accessories' started by bones, Sep 17, 2009.

1. bones

bones Guest

I am an industrial design student at the Art Institute of Colorado. I am designing a new lighting system for bicycles for my grad project and I need some ideas. I have been riding a bike for a long time and I have some ideas, but I was wondering if anyone had complaints about their current lighting system or if there is anything you particularly like about your lighting system. Any suggestions would be helpful.
    Thank you
    mike

2. hophead

hophead New Member Tavern Member

Hey mike,

Welcome to the site!

Is your lighting system going to be for a road/commuter bike or mtn bike?

3. bones

bones Guest

The main focus is a commuter bike, but i don't want the light system to be limited to one style of bicycle. Basically I want to design a fool proof system that activates automatically, creates lots of visibility, and has nice atheistical value.

4. Biker

Biker New Member

I get blinded buy oncoming lights a lot maybe find some way of designing a lite that won't blind me.

5. darkangel

darkangel Guest

Are there special glasses that you can see through at night but are anti-glare?

6. saladspokes

saladspokes Guest

Don't motorcyclists have those?

7. hophead

hophead New Member Tavern Member

I've been thinking about this and for a commuter bike it would be nice to have some sort of locking system so the light can't be stolen if left on the bike. I have a pretty nice high intensity LED bike light w/a lithium Ion battery that I commute with. I would be afraid to leave my bike locked up outside with the light still mounted because it could be easily stolen. I am lucky that I can bring my bike in to my office while I'm at work. Many don't have that luxury.