Increments

Discussion in 'Road Bikes' started by ddkeeler, Oct 19, 2010.

1. ddkeeler

ddkeeler New Member

Hey all, I have only been riding a month or so. I have been going further and further every ride. My question is at what point should I stop increasing mileage and just start working on speedwork or keeping a really high cadence? If anyone has any sort of training plan they could share with me that would very helpful as well.

Thanks

Dalton

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Once you feel like you're properly set up on your bike, (fit is very important) you can start mixing up your rides a bit.

I'm a big proponent of interval training. To give you a rough idea of what that entails, if you're going to be out for an hour, you could try a variation of this: Give yourself a warm-up, then go flat out for maybe a minute, followed by about eight minutes of recovery. Repeat this a few times, then cool down for the remainder of your ride. Your current level of fitness will dictate the interval. When you first do it, that minute may seem really long. If you're young and really fit, it might not be so much, and you can do one in five.

Another option is to take your current distance, such as a 30 mile loop for a two hour ride, and try to cut your time by sustaining a slightly higher speed for the duration. Either way, you want to raise your intensity every other day, or every third day, depending on how hard you ride. And you absolutely must give your body at least a day of rest, maybe two, otherwise you'll get burned out, and it won't be fun.

3. ddkeeler

ddkeeler New Member

If I rode 30 miles today and tomorrow I wanted to go out would I just do a short high intensity ride?

4. Industry_Hack