iphone mounts

Discussion in 'Gear & Accessories' started by vitapimp, Oct 8, 2009.

1. vitapimp

vitapimp New Member

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

3. Xela

Xela New Member Tavern Member

I got a friend who has used one. His phone has fallen off three times on the road. Actually he's on his second one now. His phone fell off the first one twice and has fallen off the second on once. His phone cover has luckily saved major damage. I need to find out which ones he's used so as to tell you to steer clear of those.

4. Xela

Xela New Member Tavern Member

Actually there's lots of cool i-phone apps coming out that would make one want to mount the phone on the bars and make a dedicated cycling computer redundant. I don't have one (work decided we need Blackberry's), but someone could probably start a thread on here about the apps they use for cycling.

5. Industry_Hack

Is there still any interest in this topic? I just got two phone mounts in the mail - one generic, and one iPhone specific.

6. omnivox42

omnivox42 New Member Tavern Member

I carry my phone in my jersey pocket. One could easily use an iphone or Android phone for a cycle computer. Saw a mount at the LBS the other day, but didn't catch the name. Yay for Omni being useless.

7. davereo

davereo Well-Known Member Tavern Member

I have tried using bar mounts for my Iphone and the GPS tracking tends to interfere with my wireless cateye. My jersey pocket works great.

8. CaptainHowdy

CaptainHowdy Member

Ha, I use the Otter Box. Zip tied the belt clip to the stem extension, works great.

image-2866126584.jpg

I may upgrade on the new bike, but this has worked just fine so far.

9. cderalow

cderalow Senior Member

I've got e topeak ride case 4. Works great.

10. bikertank

bikertank Senior Member