Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Open any cycling magazine, and you'll see pages and pages of ads for all manner of cycling gear designed to make you ride faster and farther, more efficiently and sometimes with more comfort. Then look at the prices. Yeah, that's a let down. We all want that edge, but not if we'll need a 2nd mortgage. Surely there's a piece of equipment that anyone can afford, and will immediately offer a performance advantage, isn't there?

Socks. Yes, socks! Once upon a time, our athletic sock choices were white cotton with stripes, white cotton without stripes, or black nylon/polyester. Now we've got Lycra®, CoolMax®, nylon, merino wool, silk, alpaca, spandex, and all manner of proprietary blends and ingredients to make the strongest, lightest, best fitting, heat-regulating, moisture-wicking, most comfortable socks your money can buy. And they're not even expensive. Socks in this review run from about $6 up to the $20 range, and there are different options to suit your needs, budget, and fashion sense. I put them all through their paces, and there's not a single pair that isn't a winner - they'll all make your feet (and wallet) happy.

If you look at a plain cotton sock, it's got very little shape, with basically just a toe and a heel section at either end of the body. And it's probably the same density throughout. Turn it inside out at the heel, and hold it up to the light. If you see tiny spots of light, don't expect it to hold up too long under the pressure of running or cycling. A quality sock has very dense stitching in the fore and aft areas, to provide cushioning that doesn't mat down or hold moisture. The best designs use different fibers and layers, different weaves, and different densities, all aimed at providing comfort while controlling the dual enemies of our feet - moisture and heat, which can lead to blisters and decreased performance.