Just got my Bike stolen!

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Biker, Oct 6, 2009.

1. Biker

Biker New Member

I don't know if it happened last night or this morning but anyway you look at it's gone. I had it chained to my front porch. Everything is gone, chain, everything. I would call the cops but why. This sucks. Anybody ever got a stolen bike back?

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Back in 1984, my Redline Carrera and 600a both got stolen, but I tracked them down to some punk at the other end of my street.

My Mongoose, stolen and never recovered.

My Nishiki Ariel with limited edition paint, never recovered.

I don't like your odds, sorry.

3. hophead

hophead New Member Tavern Member

I had three stolen from my garage a few years ago. I recovered one, but have never see the other two since.

Kind of a funny story. One of the guys at my LBS saw a kid riding around on My Bianchi DISS. At first, he just thought it was odd that a kid was riding a $1000.00 singlespeed with eggbeaters. I'm 6' tall and apparently the kid didn't even lower the saddle.

After a second look, he recognized the bike as one of mine that was stolen and he called the cops. They busted the kid, but he claimed that he found it laying on the side of the road. He was a minor, so I didn't get a chance to talk to him. I was mostly interested in recovering the other two bikes. The cops believed his story, so I did not press charges.

Sorry to hear about your ride. That sucks! Bike thieves should be treated like horse thieves were in the old west.

If you have your serial number you can register your stolen bike with the National Bike Registry for 99 cents. The registration lasts for 6 months. If your bike is recovered anywhere in the US, law enforcement has access to their data base to identify the owner.

4. HandsomeRyan

HandsomeRyan ♥'s Bicycles

Not to sound cynical but I've always wondered if this really happens? The way I see it: