Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I am looking to get started cycling and am unsure about how best to start when buying a bike. My budget is about $300. I started off thinking I wanted a bike just to commute but after going by the LBS I am more interested in getting something that I can commute on (about 5-10 miles) as well as take it on the occasional weekend ride. I have considered hybrids and road bikes but as I've looked on Craigslist there are a lot of different ways i can potentially go. I know my budget precludes me from a lot of more favorable options, but since I am just beginning and am a student I don't want to shell out a small fortune. Any advice on what kind of bike to get, from where, brand, components, etc?

Thank you in advance for the help.

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
I picked up a new Giant Boulder for my wife, and I think we paid $230. It was last year's model, but hadn't seen the outside of the shop since it was assembled. A tire swap, seat, and maybe a rack/panniers, and it would be a competent commuter.

Going used is ok, if you know what to look for, and aren't afraid to turn a wrench. What bikes did you have in mind?

·
Premium Member
6,015 Posts
I have had good luck with a Craigslist bike. Get fitted at an LBS and look for that frame size on CL. Try to stick with a hybrid (if you are just getting your feet wet). At first I picked up a mountain bike and turned it into a hybrid by swapping tires, saddle, and grips. The plan was to swap the suspension fork with a rigid fork, but I got bit by the road bike bug.

All in all I think I spent $240 on first bike.

Oh, and Welcome to TS!

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4