Learning to Unicycle

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by monacle, Oct 20, 2009.

1. monacle

monacle Guest

I just got my first unicycle and was wondering if someone could provide some helpful pointers to starting out? Thanks

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Oooh. You didn't use the search. If you have a school nearby, riding on a volleyball court, from post to post is one idea. You could also try the tetherball court.

I've never ridden one, but that's the advice I heard 1,000 times when I worked at a shop with a hardcore uni rider.

3. lococycle

lococycle Guest

Since it's hard to go very far at first would it be safe to learn in my living room if I were to try?

4. Industry_Hack

Hmm. You'd need a big room. Maybe a golf course? Smooth grass there.

5. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

I say get a running start and just get at it. What's the worst that could happen?

6. Grape Ape

Grape Ape Younger than Hack Tavern Member

The best place to learn is on a very steep hill, preferably wet grass but icy pavement will also work well. Once you get the hang of it there you can ride it anywhere.

7. Industry_Hack

[​IMG]

8. bikeopolis

bikeopolis Guest

What about some kind of harness system that could hold you up if you fall off it then you have a rope tied to the seat and while your hanging there u can pull it back under you and keep riding

9. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

Or you could just lean on a friend and have them provide support like when you were a kid learning how to ride.

10. tankboy

tankboy Guest

Are there any unicycles where the wheel can spin freely when your not pedaling?

11. flyingdog

flyingdog Member

Old thread, I know..but how about a uni with training wheels?

Attached Files:

• cp.JPG
      cp.JPG
      File size:
      79.4 KB
      Views:
  12. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

Nice! Where did you find that?

13. flyingdog

flyingdog Member