Light Recommendation

Discussion in 'Gear & Accessories' started by Weav, Apr 10, 2011.

1. Weav

Weav GiddyUp

Anyone have any suggestions on a bike headlight for road biking? I see models anywhere from $35 all the way up to $500 (absurd) and wondered where the bang for the buck is? Thanks

2. ReCYCLE

ReCYCLE New Member

I have a Niterider Minewt 150 lumens. It's great! 3 light levels, it's priced like $100 but you can go to wheelvillage.com for like 75 :] Free Shipping! =D

3. SprocketGirl

SprocketGirl spin... spin.. spin

lumens is the key... i would never pay much over 100 bucks for one.

4. Weav

Weav GiddyUp

how many lumens is needed minimum?

5. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

6. SprocketGirl

SprocketGirl spin... spin.. spin

kinda depends on conditions like weather other lighting
    i would get the biggest bang for the buck.
    i have a cat eye uno led light... can't recall the lumens but it works great for my commute and is super small and light weight. runs on 2 AA batteries for about 15 hours.
    treefort bikes has them for $27

they also have some larger brighter ones.

7. chibibike

chibibike Banned

i have a cateye LED headlight i bought about 7 years ago for $80 and it's pretty bright. it takes 4 AA batterys. The first and only time I really used it though was on a hybrid bike I rode about 40 miles in the middle of the night in the rain with no other lights around. I had to tilt it up and shine it on the signs to see where I was and then back toward the ground to see where I was going and it was enough light for me.

[​IMG]

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

8. Weav

Weav GiddyUp

9. Industry_Hack