Lightning Strike

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by Grenouille, May 9, 2010.

1. Grenouille

Grenouille Grenouille

If one were hit by lightning riding, would your tires insulate you as in a car? Or would you get french fried?

Not that I'm looking to push the envelope here... But yesterday mornining as T-storms rolled thru, I saw a couple cyclists out (as I drove by them on my way to the gym).

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

I wouldn't count on them to help, should that happen.

3. photosbymark

photosbymark New Member

with that much voltage, unless you were inside a metal box on tires Id suspect an arc would be the result and you would be the conductor

4. Doohickie

Doohickie Older than Hack

If there is enough voltage to leap over the thousands of feet of air from the cloud to your body, do you think an inch gap between your rims and the ground will have any effect?

5. BlazingPedals

BlazingPedals Member

What photos and Doohickie said. That spark is hotter than the surface of the sun and has already jumped a mile or more through the air to get to you. In a car, the tires don't help at all, but the car's body acts as a Faraday cage to divert the charge around you. On a bike, the bolt would hit you directly. Wet skin doesn't have enough resistance to matter, and your body would make a good approximation of that little piece of wire in a fuse. You'd get a pretty bad burn at the entrance and exit spots, too; but that would only matter if most of the bolt missed you.

6. Hardtail

Hardtail Ridin Dirty

Sounds like this should be sent into Mythbuster!

7. hophead

hophead New Member Tavern Member

I don't think that there's a myth to be busted here. Even if there were, good luck finding a volunteer to ride the bike.:eek:

8. TxCyclist

TxCyclist Administrator Staff Member Admin Staff

You would be toast I would assume. Though would moving fairly fast make you less of an object?

9. hophead