Like to know what you guys think of the idea

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by photosbymark, Jul 29, 2010.

1. photosbymark

photosbymark New Member

Well almost everyone has an old bike around. Having a forum member that rides overseas while serving, something hit me the other night. I wonder how many units overseas have bikes that the troops could go out and ride to unwind. Call it something like Pedals for Patriots.

After reading a few articles about how much being able to ride meant to some of the guys, just maybe we can get a few over there to provide something for them to ride and enjoy.

Don't know how the logistics would work, but someone that knows how things work might be able to take the lead and see if this idea has any merit.

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

I don't think much of the idea, but don't take offense to that.

3. georgec

georgec Member

I have picthed in a few times on sending Radio Control plane parts to service men who fly R/C planes. Have even helped out on sending cigars over there. I think the problem with this is how would you get a bicycle over there you can't just put one in a little box and mail like you can the other stuff.

4. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

Sounds good, but I would contact the Army about how to handle it.

5. zahgurim

zahgurim zero the hero

I know lots of guys that serve, and ride with quite a few. They don't have issues/problems getting bikes if they want them.
    They get bikes/frames/parts shipped to them using military APO shipping no problem, at shipping rates much cheaper than what anyone else overseas not on a base gets for shipping.

6. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

My thought is that the army isn't going to like large unexpected packages.

7. Xela

Xela New Member Tavern Member