looking for my first bike:help

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by Rookie, Sep 13, 2009.

1. Rookie

Rookie Guest

I am located in Portland Oregon and looking to purchase my first bike. I still have yet to get measured so without that precise information I know there is little I can do. I have been looking around and found a couple used bikes that I like, but I know nothing about bikes yet. can some of you more experienced riders please help me out?

I am a beginner with no previous experience but I want a higher quality bike with good components. I don't need the best available, but something that would be considered good quality.

here are the bikes in order of which I would prefer (again size is going to be needed before I can make any progression.

LEADER LD-730 ROAD BIKE

2005 scattante r660 - 54CM

Masi 3VC all-Carbon bike w/Easton EC90 SLX fork, Dura Ace and more!

Any kind of advice or opinions would be helpful. thanks! :thumbsup:

nick

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

How tall are you, and what kind of riding will you be doing?

You'd need to be well over 6ft tall to ride that Leader, which appears to have some ancient components. Shimano 600? Wasn't that Ultegra a jillion years ago?

You'd have to be under 5'10" to fit the Scattante. Think 30" inseam or less. But that would make a decent all around bike. I'd make a lowball offer if it fit.

At less than 16lbs, the Masi, while a sweet ride, would hardly be a good commuter. If you weigh over 170, you're going to test those lightweight components. It's most suited for an inseam over 32". It's probably the best value.

Feel free to provide some more info, or ask questions. And anyone that disagrees with any of my comments, feel free to say so.

3. Xela

Xela New Member Tavern Member

4. Industry_Hack

A bit intimidating for a new cyclist, those links.

5. hophead

hophead New Member Tavern Member