Malt Whisky

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by hophead, Jun 30, 2010.

1. hophead

hophead New Member Tavern Member

I figured that since the Beer thread is so popular, why not Malt Whisky!

I'm sitting on my couch watching The Flying Scotsman with a dram of Ardbeg Uigeadail. I've had malts from every distillery in Islay, but this is the first time I've had this particular whisky. This stuff is like the 10 yo on steroids. Wow!!

I'm drinking it neat right now. Dram #2 I will add a bit of water and see what happens.

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Will this lead to a cigar thread?

3. hophead

I'll leave that in your capable hands. I quit cigars 10 years ago.

4. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

So cigar thread is in order then? I quit smoking a couple years back, but still smoke the cigars.

5. Industry_Hack

Thanks for the reminder.

6. Nigal

Nigal YAY BAIKS! Tavern Member

My favorite Islay is McClelland Islay Single Malt. I picked it up on a lark when I was going low budget and it is the best single malt I've found for sub-$25. Macallans 10 year is great stuff too. One of the best I've ever had was a 18 year old The Glenlivet. It's what I call "Prayer Whiskey". You take a sip, lower your head looking at the glass and reverently say, "Damn...". And please do not call me a blasphemer for this statement but...Bushmills 10 year single malt Irish is heavenly too.

i've been drinking more bourbon than anything lately.

7. Industry_Hack

I got a bottle of Lismore Single Speyside from TJ's last time I was in SoCal. To be honest, I'm more of a rum guy, so I can't appreciate the subtleties between different brands. But I'm willing to give it a try! :D