Military Bikes?

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by funetical, Nov 11, 2009.

1. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

I've been digging around and came across a couple of bike vendors that offer military style bikes but not ones that have been used. I called a local Military surplus store and they wished me good luck. Does anybody know where I can find a military Bike?

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

I don't think such a thing exists, other than fake 40lb+ folding bikes.

3. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

I've found pics but no manufacturers.

Attached Files:

4. hophead

hophead New Member Tavern Member

5. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

Sweet. Now I need the people who made it. I can't find any kind of manufacturers. I thought about calling the Swiss military but I don't think there listed.

6. HandsomeRyan

HandsomeRyan ♥'s Bicycles

I like that front rack. A lot.

7. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

That's why I want to get a hold of one of these. I like the idea of all this neat storage space. It's innovative.

8. Grape Ape

Grape Ape Younger than Hack Tavern Member

Ok this thread got me interested and I started searching. I finally came up with two search terms that helped my find a bunch of pics and information. Swiss Velo Brigade Military Bicycle and Militärvelo.

In my search I found an excellent flickr stream with many pics of a collection of Swiss miltary bikes owned by Hans Peter in Ursenbach Switzerland. He even owns one of the 5 military bikes made for women. The neat one was the one with a trailer for hauling injured people. Plus one with a nice cargo trailer.

Here are two links to places that sell used swiss military bikes and parts. You have to translate it yourself I just found it for ya'll.

Das Schweizer Militärfahrrrad

Velo Zürich | Der Velo-Laden in der Stadt Zürich