Motorized bicycles

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by Garilia, Mar 31, 2011.

1. Garilia

Garilia New Member

Why?

I needed to get some bike time yesterday, and didn't have the time to take the MTB to a park, so I just rode it around the neighborhood. I was catching up to a woman riding a bike around the neighborhood, it looked like she was coasting. I saw a red tail light blink on and off once, then she went back onto the road and sped up. Without pedaling. It was then that I heard the motor.

I'm not sure what the point of riding a motorized bicycle like that is/was.

2. rola643

rola643 Two skinny Js Staff Member Admin Staff Mod Team Tavern Member

Oh...you have opened a can of warms now Garila! I happen to agree with you, it's pointless from an exercise point of view but you should search that topic here and see what comes up.

3. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

I don't get it either. Anything less than an 883 is just silly. ;)

4. photosbymark

photosbymark New Member

It is easy and relatively cheap. It is also in many cases illegal. In Texas you can ride an electric powered bike on streets, but only streets that have a speed limit IIRC of up to 35mph. Take the electric motor off and you can ride on the many if not most highways. A gas engine puts it in the moped/scooter mode which means a tag and liability insurance as well as a license. Please don't take this as the legal gospel. It was from a quick read years ago when I first considered this and decided against it. It could be different now or I could be wrong (as any regular knows I often am) but its a very different status once any engine goes on and it will be different from state to state and country to country.

5. Nigal

Nigal YAY BAIKS! Tavern Member

motorized bicycle = fake boobs

Unnecessary and just wrong.

6. rola643

rola643 Two skinny Js Staff Member Admin Staff Mod Team Tavern Member

Fatboy or bust!

7. Industry_Hack