MTB crashes we've had

Discussion in 'Mountain Biking' started by Dos_Ruedas, Nov 17, 2017.

1. Dos_Ruedas

Dos_Ruedas Well-Known Member

cwtch likes this.
  2. cwtch

cwtch Well-Known Member

There have been so many, just so many. Haven't had any in quite a spell though.
    Great write up, thanks for sharing.

3. Hazy

Hazy Well-Known Member

Have had several. Mostly OTB's from not cornering well in sharp turns that were going in a ravine.
    Scariest OTB came out of nowhere as a tree root was hidden on the side of the trail as I was bombing downhill on a smooth trail. It somehow snagged my pedal pushing me forward as it was holding my bike back which made me Superman through the air. Luckily I just landed in soft dirt and didn't sustain any injury.
    I started riding group rides this year with some very experienced riders. Back in July we were riding a Black diamond downhill with some significant drops in a rock garden. I made the 1st drop ( to my amazement ) and saw the rider in front of me (excellent technical rider with a bit more squish in his shocks )maneuvering through the second. I followed and positioned myself waaay back and low and accidentally hit my front brake. This propelled my left ribcage into my seat and ultimately crashing. Finished the ride but over the course of a few days it became apparent I had at least bruised my ribs if not cracking them. That could have been much worse but again came out lucky considering.

Last edited: Nov 18, 2017
    cwtch and rola643 like this.
  4. Marna_Kazmaier

Marna_Kazmaier Well-Known Member Tavern Member

STOP! Ha3
    I JUST bought my new Mt. Bike!
    2017 Scott Contessa Spark 720
    Don't scare me now! <winks and laughs>

cwtch and Dos_Ruedas like this.
  5. maelochs

maelochs Old, fat, and slow

I barely remember my two worst MTB wrecks .... concussions will do that .... :)

superj and cwtch like this.
  6. Dos_Ruedas

Dos_Ruedas Well-Known Member