My Crank is crunk!!

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by Heartless, Apr 22, 2010.

1. Heartless

Heartless New Member

Guys im rebuilding a bike, its a Norco sasquatch. My girlfriends actually.:love: I have built a few bikes but im no pro. here is my question.:(

I have a Husselfelt Howitzer crank, which seems to be on there like a Mother [email protected]#er!!! :hate:The drive side (side with gears) dust cap came off with a bit of force and a hex socket. The non-drive side though is really on there.... :confused:

Cranks i have used in the past require a crank puller, but only after you get behind the dust cap; this one seems like the dust cap is torqued to like 175lbs? :eek:

Help me out im really tired of borrowing out my bike!! haha;)

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

3. hophead

hophead New Member Tavern Member

Does your dust cover require a pin spanner or an allen wrench to remove? Some have both. If it's an allen, then no problem. Just use the appropriate allen head socket and wrench and unscrew it.

If it does not have a hexagonal hole in the center to accept an allen wrench, then applying lotsa torque is a bit more problematic. Do you have a spanner wrench? If not, how are you trying to remove it?

4. Heartless

Heartless New Member

Here are some pictures and afew less words. As you can see, the drive side came off ok, but the non-drive side did not; in terms of the retaining nuts. I also noticed the size of allen key i was using could have been tighter; i used a 8mm allen key. Would a non metric size fit better? perhaps there is a 8.5mm? Ok, one more question what park tool will bull the crank off the BB.

Attached Files:

5. hophead