My interest is in cargo bikes

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by wheelburro, Oct 24, 2009.

1. wheelburro

wheelburro New Member

I built this trike. It is fuctional, but is too hard to control. I plan on moving the turning axis forward. Sorry, the page won't upload the jpeg.

2. coco2

coco2 Well-Known Member

Welcome wheelburro, when you say cargo bikes, is that a bike with an extra long frame so that you can get bigger panniers on the back ???

3. wheelburro

wheelburro New Member

It's a cyclos. There are two 20" wheels in front and a 26" wheel in back. Right now it has a negative turning axis, but I am working on a positive turning axis with an idler arm. I tried compressing a jpeg of the trike, but it didn't work. You can see a pic at El Wheelburro on facebook.

4. coco2

coco2 Well-Known Member

ok i'll check that out

5. topgun514

topgun514 Guest

i wanna see this. Sounds really cool

6. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

7. wheelburro

wheelburro New Member

I just put a photo of the wheelburro on the new bike page.

8. Ashivon

Ashivon Guest

New member and just saw your picture:love::D

9. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

Wow. How long you been into those?

10. wheelburro

wheelburro New Member

How long?

I've been working on cargo trike design for a year. I'm moving the turning axis forward and putting two wheels in the rear. I'll post a pic when I finish fabrication.

11. Grape Ape

Grape Ape Younger than Hack Tavern Member

What do you mean by moving the turning axis forward? Are you moving the front tires out away from the headtube and more forward on the frame of the seat carrier. So they are towards the front corners? Also why are you adding a second rear tire? More weight capacity, or stability.