Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got a Wabi Cycles Classic as a slightly late birthday gift. I was holding out for the 2010 models, as they new wheels shaved about a half pound off the 2009 model.

Here it is, getting a pedal swap. There was snow on the ground behind me that day. Brrr. Or grr. I need cold weather gear now.

Attachments

·
12,350 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I was a bit shocked at prices for decent road bikes these days. But the idea of a fixed gear with a flip flop hub appealed to me. Currently, it's set up as a single speed about 80% of the time. I do ride fixed, but since I'm still sorting out seat height and adjustments, it's easier to ride single speed while I tinker.

The handling is awesome. Even though it's a fixed gear, the geometry is much more classic road than track. Since I'm not interested in dicing through traffic, it suits me well.

·
12,350 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Clean Machine!... you going to cut down the steerer at all?
I just put a Thomson stem on it, and I'm thinking of replacing the headset. The FSA is smooth, but I don't like the looks of that big conical spacer. Once I get that sorted, I'll be able to cut the steerer.

As far as the bike itself, so far, I'm pretty stoked. Twenty years ago, all I rode was steel. I've tried a few aluminum road bikes since then, but the ride has always been too rough. The Wabi website describes the bike as "plush", and that's exactly what it is. I get on it, and feel like I could ride all day, it's that smooth.

·
12,350 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Nice Ride congrats industry hack.