Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am a complete road bike beginner and I need good advice to help me buy a a decent entry level road bike.
I was initially looking at hybrids, but I am training for a triathlon and I was told that a hybrid was not a good option for racing.

I would like something that is comfortable, stable and has potential for decent speed. Unfortunately, my budget is pretty limited as I am a college student. I am tempted to get something used off Craig's list but I just don't know enough to get something that would be a proper fit.

I'm planning on going to a LBS to look around. But before I do, I would really appreciate some guidance as to where to start. What brand makes an affordable, decent, entry level road bike? What are the most important things I should be looking for when I go shopping?
I would really appreciate any advice and/or direction that you can give me.
Thank you in advance! :)

·
Registered
243 Posts
^^^^^^^^^^^^
I've been looking at that bike, I really want it, but alas I have not the funds :( Specialized makes fantastic bikes though. I'd say it was a good pick.

·
Registered
148 Posts