Need new wheel

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by colleenbc, Jul 28, 2009.

1. colleenbc

colleenbc Guest

I bent my wheel in a recent wreck. My LBS gut says it's not repairable. I mostly just need to know some things so I can have an intelligent conversation with him about what I want. My hub is a DT Swiss 370 and I'll probably keep that so it's the wheel I'm mostly curious about. My bent wheel was a DT Swiss 420. We talked a little about replacing it with Mavic 317 (I have those on my other bike and have never bent them) I always ride off road - I'm not particularly into the racing thing but I like to go fast - especially down. I'm not afraid of hitting bumps pretty hard but I'm no expert either.
    I know good rims make a big difference but all I really know is that heavier takes a beating better and lighter go faster. What about the number of spokes, what about the different types of spokes, is there something about the way the spokes cross each other that makes a difference? How much of my options are limited by keeping the same hub?
    What should I expect a from a certified wheel builder - does that really mean he knows stuff?
    My bike was marketed as 'tubeless ready' - does that mean it had special rims or was it the tire (Specialized S-works The Captain - which I really was disappointed in BTW)? I don't run tubeless and I don't think I probably will but I just want to know.
    This is probably long enough now.

2. hophead

hophead New Member Tavern Member

I have (and do) use Mavic and DT rims and have never had any problems with the quality of their products. You should be fine with either brand.