Need some advice

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by Barmy, Mar 1, 2010.

1. Barmy

Barmy New Member

I just dug out my old ten speed road bike from my teenage years ( I'm in my late 50's so the bike is from the 60's). It has an Italian frame by Briggette. Derailors by Campy, Rigida rims with leather seat. The question is should I restore it as a fun occassional rider. And if so, how far do you go? Repaint the frame? Or just go through a normal tuneup (new tire and tubes, brake cables and pads, re-tape the handle bars)?

I could buy a half decent Sunday rider (to use with my wife, I have a new Specialized Robaix coming for any serious riding) for less than $500. I could end up spending close to that making this one presentable.

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

How much sentimental value does it have?

3. Barmy

Barmy New Member

Up to

when I started to try to clean it up, quite a bit. Now that I've started the cleanup process not so much.. :)

4. jwl325

jwl325 Member

If I had an old bike like that, I mean unless it was something really collector-worthy, I'd probably clean it up and use it as a wall hanging in a rec room or something like that.

Very cool though that you still have your old bike.

5. ScottRyder

ScottRyder New Member

Preserve and ride it, you'll regret it someday if you part with it. Do you have some photos you can post?

Scott

6. Barmy

Barmy New Member

Will post pictures

after I get it back together again

7. Doohickie

Doohickie Older than Hack

Don't paint it. Just clean it up- car wax on the paint, lemon juice and tin foil on the chrome.

8. devinfan

devinfan New Member

Pictures!!!