new 29er on market

Discussion in 'Mountain Biking' started by lowracer1, Dec 23, 2009.

1. lowracer1

lowracer1 New Member

Attached Files:

Last edited: Dec 23, 2009
  2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Honestly, I fail to see the point of this bike.

3. lowracer1

lowracer1 New Member

I agree , you can't do a sub 4 hour century on it...... just not fast enough. Besides that you have to sit upright on an uncomfortable seat.

4. Mootsguy

Mootsguy A Red Headed Stepchild

Ridden one?:rolleyes:

5. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

It looks like a cool bike to me. What's the issue?

6. Industry_Hack

A rigid carbon frame/fork with 29" wheels. Seems very O

7. Mootsguy

More so that Niner's Air 9? [​IMG]

8. Industry_Hack

I'm not sold on the 29er concept, or on carbon fiber for mountain bikes. Wasn't there a thread on here where the cable guy knocked some guy's bike over, and it cracked? I don't want any part of that. Couple that with heavier wheels, and I'm not seeing any advantages.

If it pleases you, get it. It's just not something I have any interest in.

9. Mootsguy

Out of curiosity Hack, what experiences have you had that lead to those conclusions?

10. Industry_Hack

Personally? None. I'm all for carbon fiber headset spacers, don't get me wrong. But I had one friend snap his bars in half, and another broke his seatpost. Then I read about situations like the aforementioned bike getting knocked over in a house, and the frame cracking. It doesn't really matter how unlikely that is, it's still not acceptable to me. Failures aside, I'm not willing to pay the premium for carbon fiber.

11. IanHighfield

IanHighfield New Member