Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,
First off I'd like to thank all of you guys for your good info while I've been lurking this site. Very good info and very nice people. I'll tell you about me. Im completely new to the sport. I've been a smoker for about the last 10 years and I've finally decided to kick it. So what better excercise to help me stop than to bike right? I'll be getting my bike sometime next week and I had a few questions. 1) My wife and I are expecting and due in the winter with our first child. I want to get my wife into biking as well and we both wanted a road bike. Does anyone know if we can use a Baby Trailer (i think thats what they are called) with a road bike? 2) The bike i'm looking at has a rusted chain. How do I know what size chain I would need? Thank you and look forward to meeting you folks.

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
First, welcome to the forums! Good on ya for quitting that nasty habit, getting into cycling, and congrats on the baby.

To answer your questions, yes, you can haul a trailer with a road bike. Most attach to the chain stay, and the actual fitting is rarely an issue. Hauling a kid along with the diaper bag and every thing else your wife will want to bring along (the voice of experience here) means that you'll be in lower gears, at a casual pace. But it's totally worth it to cycle as a family. My son's car seat was strapped into a trailer when he was only four weeks old (DO NOT TAKE THAT AS AN ENDORSEMENT!) and we rode on MUPs that were closed to motor vehicle traffic. As he got older, he was towed behind my triathlon bike and mountain bike. Twenty one years later, he's finishing his fourth year at a geek college, and gets around by bicycle.

Count the cogs on your back wheel. You should have anywhere from five to nine. That's what the bike store will need to know. Let us know if you have questions about installation.

·
Premium Member