New gal

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by hpmarie86, May 23, 2010.

1. hpmarie86

hpmarie86 New Member

I am new to this forum. I don't own a bike right now, but I am planning to buy one this week. I am torn between the Trek Fx 7.1 or the Giant Cypress DX 2010. I need some feedback. The trek is cheaper which is nice, but I have read that the Off road handling is poor. I would like to commute, excercise and ride some gravel trails as well as the Katy trail. No rough trails, but I do need something that will hold up. Any suggestions? They are both in the 450-500 price range I am looking at. Which one should I go with?

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Welcome to the forums! While I'm partial to Giant, you should get whichever one fits you the best. In that price range, there isn't going to be a huge difference.

3. Hardtail

Hardtail Ridin Dirty

Welcome!

I bought my first Trek a month ago and pleased thus far. The main thing is to make sure buy a bike that fits you; ie correct frame size and needs. Highly recommend taking the advice of the bike shop in your area!

4. smgordo13

smgordo13 New Member

Welcome to the Forums!

Personally I am partial to Specialized so can't say anything about the Trek or Giant.
    For what you want you may want to check out the Specialized Ariel as well though. Same price range.
    Try out a few different bikes. You will know when you get the rioght one. It's all about the fit and how you feel on it.

5. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

Welcome to TwoSpoke!

6. Xela

Xela New Member Tavern Member

Great to have you here! I had a similar question trying to help my sister decide on a bike. She still hasn't, but will soon, so if you can offer any input once you decide on your bike, I'd appreciate. Here's the members' suggestions from my thread:

http://www.twospoke.com/forum/f27/question-ladies-4138/

7. LarryM

LarryM Eocyclist

Hi,