Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am VERY new to cycling, and I am looking to purchase my first road bike. I have a few options...just looking for suggestions and direction.
I was looking at a lightly used Litespeed. It's a few years old but in excellent condition and has quality components on it; it's selling for $500. It looks like a great bike and fits me perfect, but I am a little hesitant to buy a used bike.
On the other hand, I am also looking at new bikes...maybe a cross bike...
Any suggestions? I want to keep my total cost under $2000.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Whatever feels right to you and you feel comfortable with : D

·
Registered
66 Posts
I would go to a few local bike shops as well. The benefit would be that you would generally get things like free adjustments, warranty etc. Ideally, a few shops that aren't too far away that sell different brands, so that you can try a Trek, a Cannondale, Specialized, Giant etc. Bikes across different brands have different geometrys. For that price you can get a really nice road bike, though remember some of the addons (water bottle/holder, pumps, helmet, spare tube etc.) Some shops give you a discount on accessories when you buy a bike.

·
Back in the Saddle
106 Posts
nothing wrong with a used bike, as long as is solid and in good repair. Gets you into the activity of cycling at a lower cost. Then if you find this isn't the activity for you, you aren't out $2k on a new bike. Even if you have some minor repairs/tune up to be done you are still on the low end cost-wise.

·
spin... spin.. spin
1,613 Posts
if it is your size.... which you said it was grab the litespeed! at $500 you can't lose. if you love being on a road bike then you can later decide the exact new bike to get and get it. by later i mean a few years. or heck just ride the litespeed.
new bikes are cool but sometimes you can get more bang going used.