Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to cycling . I just got my first bike an know very little about it. I was told by the saleman that it is a good starter bike, but you know saleman. My first ? is did I get crooked? The brand is Giant/Revel 2. Is this a good bike for a starter? My plan is to start riding each afternoon, my 1st goal is to get to 40 miles a week then move on up. So far I can do about 8 miles before my butt starts to hurt. I am a 66 years young and just starting a new sport, feel that I will enjoy biking a lot. Thank for any help on my new bike.:):)

·
Registered
1,223 Posts
Congratulations on the new bike. Depending on the type of riding you plan to do, it could be the perfect bike for you to start. First are you riding mostly on roads or trails? Trails and dirt need a wider tire than roads. Looks like a 26 incher so you should be have quite the choice of tires for streets and roads. A narrower tire with higher pressures work much better on roads. A tire that is maybe 1.25 to inch and a half should be much better, but look for tires and tubes that can take the most pressure. The higher the pressure the easier the rolling on the road. Most road bikes have pressures up to or above 100psi so the closer you get to that the better. Its a huge difference.

As far as hurting, make sure you are fitting the bike properly. A proper bike fit helps avoid injury, but a certain amount of saddle adjustment is going to happen. Cycling shorts with a lot of padding helps a lot, and the saddle that came with the bike may not be the saddle you really need for comfort. It also with a little time may be just fine.