Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi!

I've been cycling regularly for about five years now - every week day on a 12 mile round trip commute and longer rides (30-50 miles) on weekends. I started out on a mountain bike as that's what I had when I was younger, then I switched to a hybrid with skinny tires and the difference was amazing! So much lighter and faster.

As I've started doing longer weekend rides and am considering joining a club, last week I bit the bullet and bought my first road bike with drop handles, having never ridden drops before in my life, because the countryside where I cycle is very windy, and I've noticed when I try to crouch as much as possible on my hybrid, it really does make a difference.

Anyway, I had it fitted to me, and the position seems fine - no aches and pains, even when riding the drops. My hands hurt at first, but actually after 20 mins or so that stopped. I think I was just gripping to hard out of fear!

The problem I'm having is that after my hybrid, the bike just seems SO unstable! The steering is very sensitive and I just don't know where to hold the bars for the most stability, especially when going around corners or might need to brake suddenly.

I tend to feel most stable holding them at the top but that leaves me unable to reach the brakes, which is very scary for me. Even holding them almost on top of the brake leavers, I haven't got enough reach in my fingers and the only way I can brake effectively is if I ride in a drop position.

Also, when I was riding on a busy road (where traffic passes at around 60mph) I found the wind from the lorries would cause me to wobble - this doesn't happen on my hybrid which is almost as light and also has skinny tyres.