Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

im new here and this is my first post. lately, ive realized an appreciation for well made bikes and even though i havent got on a bike for a loooong time, i wanna get into it. the last bike i had/rode was a mongoose brand bike from the local sports store and that was when i was 10 years old. so im pretty much a complete noob on bikes. i dont know any terminology that you guys might use and even the different types of bikes out there.

my friend gave me his old fixed gear bike, so ive been given a great opportunity to get started on my newly found bike hobby. all i know is that its a fixed gear (which was converted from a multi-gear bike) and that i wanna fix it up.

so, i plan to get new handlebars, paint the frame, and get a new chain/crankset etc? (dunno what that is, but i was told it might need maintenence).

my first priority is getting handlebars (they are in pretty bad shape). then painting. then other new parts.

so... any of you guys have advice for a novice like me? could be anything, even if its not related to fixing up the bike. is there a specific size handlebar i need to get that will fit the frame? tools i would need? where to get quality parts at a decent price? brands? how to paint? i dunno, im just throwing stuff out there. oh, and im open to used stuff from ebay.

also, if you dont wanna explain everything, directing me to other sources of info would be greatly appreciated.

thanks guys!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
thanks guys! i dont have the bike right now, but i can get photos in about a week.

keep the friendly advice coming! thank youuuu

·
'57 Schwinn Wasp
224 Posts
Wow Joel. Nice link. I immediately sent them this: