Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. My name is John. I am new to the cycling world , other than walmart bicycles when i was a kid.

A couple months ago i bought a Cannondale Mountain bike. It comes equiped with PROMAX DSK-720 brakes.

When I bought the bike , the bike shop owner showed me a couple things about the bike and I was on my way.

At first I didnt get to ride the bike much due to weather , but over the last month I have been riding it about a mile every three days or so. I am a very caual rider right now until i get my sealegs for riding.

Something i noticed on the bike was from the beginning , when I apply the rear brakes , it makes a sqeaking noise. Is this normal?

Also, the wheels have quick releases on them. I take off the front wheel to transport the bike. When I put the front wheel back on , the wheel spins freely , but when i spin the wheel , i can still hear the brakes rubbing just a little bit. Is this normal?

The bike shop offered me my first tune up for free and I am taking it in this week to have it done. The reason I ask these questions, I want to bring this problem up with the guy who does the work. If these things are not normal , I want him to fix it. I dont want it to be wrong and send me on my way being the uninformed cyclist that I am.

Can someone please give me some pointers on this topic.

Thankyou,
John

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Your brakes consist of a steel rotor being clamped by fiber pads. While Promax is at the lower end of the quality scale, no rotor (or disc) is going to be perfectly flat, and you'll get some vibration and squealing.

The mechanic is going to say "Well, these brakes are kinda cheap, and there's not much I can do", and he'll mostly be right. All he can do is make sure everything is clean and tight, and properly adjusted. As long as that is the case, it's annoying, but not necessarily indicative of a problem.

·
Registered
21 Posts