No Brakes?

Discussion in 'Mountain Biking' started by radracer, Oct 2, 2009.

1. radracer

radracer Guest

Why do so many BMX riders go without brakes on their bikes?

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Because it's cool.

And the cable gets in the way when you're doing tricks.

3. radracer

radracer Guest

Isn't that what a Gyro or Oryg or whatever they name them now for

4. Industry_Hack

A longer rear brake cable is much simpler than a detangler, but brakeless is to BMX what the fixie is to single speed riders.

5. radracer

radracer Guest

All these people have brakes:

[​IMG]

:D

6. Industry_Hack

A brake is required for racing, not for freestyle.

7. benny4130

benny4130 New Member

There are a few reasons a lot of people ride with no brakes.
    1. If you go to do a trick you stay commited.
    2. You don't have to worry about broken cables or having to stop and untwist your bars.
    3. Most riders don't have the money or know how to fix a wheel so when it gets all out of wack and starts hitting the brakes they just take it off and keep riding

8. ultra

ultra Guest

What are your feelings on gyros? It seems like they would solve the issue and most of the bikes I look at have them

9. Industry_Hack

Take a close look at one. While they're simple to set up and maintain if you understand them, they're pure hell if you don't have a clue. Weight and complexity frequently lose out to a single long cable, or none at all.

10. benny4130

benny4130 New Member

Go with a straight linar cable until you get down tailwhips and bar spins otherwise there is no need for one

11. bear-hunter-ninja

bear-hunter-ninja New Member

brakes aren't necessary for any style of freestyle riding anymore, dirt jumping included. Less weight, less maintenance, looks smoother, etc.
    IE: Chase Hawk

Fox Head | Bmx Videos | 2009

12. Farnsworth

Farnsworth New Member

Stop with your feet then? Must kill your shoes.