Numb feet while riding

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by loraero47, Feb 20, 2011.

1. loraero47

loraero47 New Member

Do any of you experience numbness in your feet while riding? I experience numbness from the ball of my foot forward to the toes. I have changed my cleats and shoes but it has not gone away.

I started with speed play cleats and recently changed to SPDs. Maybe it is the anatomy of my feet. Any help or advice you might share is appreciated.

Thanks
    :(

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

How old are you? What kind of shoes? Have you had a fitting? Is your seat height, fore/aft and handlebar position correct?

3. flyingdog

flyingdog Member

I find laces effect me once-in-awhile. Too tight/flat or round usually cut the blood flow. There's a pretty large artery on top of yer foot. Coarse I have pretty high arches, which doesn't help in my case.

4. loraero47

loraero47 New Member

Numb Feet

I am 55 and i have been exercising all of my life. I have always experienced numbness with the clip in shoe/cleat system. I have the Ember Road Womens shoes and SPD cleats. Yes, i have had a professional fit.

I may try riding my mountain bike (no cleat system on this bike) to see if i get the same numbness. I normally don't ride my mountain bike as far as the road bike, just want to see if i get the same result.

I do notice when i stop on my road bike (15 min. or so) the numbness goes away. Thanks for your help - i will keep trying.

5. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Does shifting your position on the bike offer any relief, or just stopping completely? Do you have any other numbness?

I am personally very susceptible to proper positioning, which is why I ask.

6. Green

Green Completely Human