Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK I'm new to riding road bikes, but is it normal to have a slightly stiff neck after about 15 min. on the bike? Also my hands start to go numb after about the same amount of time. I spent about an hour getting fitted to the bike when I bought it, and the shop owner told me it was common to have the numbness and stiffness at first, but after doing my first 20 miler on the bike today I am also feeling a little "cramped" on the bike. I'm Google searching like crazy trying to find some answers, can any of you guys help me out with?:hate:

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
no I do not stretch, and yes I am probably 30-40 pounds overweight,(I was 270 and now weigh 229, hoping to drop even more now that I ride daily) I'm 5'10" and just started riding regularly about 3 weeks ago. Any suggestions, and please be kind I am trying to get/stay in shape.

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Do you try to keep your head up the whole time you're riding? Do you ride in the drops, or switch up hand positions frequently? I guess you should describe your riding position. I'm picturing someone spending too much time in the drops, while trying to see the road ahead, but I could be wrong. And my doctor would tell you that you're about 50 pounds overweight, as we're the same height, and he seems to think I should be around 180. ;)

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I'm very rarely in the drops, mostly I'm on the hoods. I try and move my hands around on the top area of the handlebars, I ride in some traffic so I like to keep my head up and on a swivel so as not to get creamed by someone texting while driving, and if I was 180 I would look like I was starving! I am also including a pic of what is left of my right hand after a radical ray resection to get rid of a cancerous tumor, may have something to do with the numbness I'm experiencing.

Attachments

·