Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How often would you recommend adding oil to the chain on my single speed which I ride daily about 6 miles?

And should I clean it before applying the chain oil and if so how should I clean it?

Thanks!

·
Registered
19 Posts
does any one use wax lube? doesn't pick up dirt like oil.

·
Eocyclist
742 Posts
I prefer a teflon based lube. It is essentially dry and doesn't pick up dirt, even on gravel roads or crushed stone. I apply it once a month or whenever I ride in the wet. When I lube, one drop goes on each roller, then I run the chain while wiping it with a clean cloth until no more stuff comes off.

After every ride the chain gets wiped to where it is clean and dry to the touch. The chain has never been cleaned with a solvent, and after almost 7,000 miles, it still has more than half it's life left.

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
If that's Los Angeles,. go with a dry lube. Follow manufacturer's instructions. If that's Louisiana, a wet lube would probably server you better.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
It is Los Angeles. Thanks for the recommendations. The LBS was offering a chain cleaner to use before applying the chain oil. It sounds like people have mixed opinions on whether this is necessary. Is my take on this correct?

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
At six miles/day, temps in the 70s, no rain, if you never lube your chain, but don't leave your bike in the rain, the chain should last 17 years.

·
Registered
1 Posts
I live in Florida and ride in the rain constantly. I do 30 miles almost daily. What would you guys reccomend for that?

·
Deranged Touring Cyclist
5,136 Posts
I live in Florida and ride in the rain constantly. I do 30 miles almost daily. What would you guys reccomend for that?