Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
1,973 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
No idea why this popped into my head, but was just wondering what it is that makes you stop being a beginner rider? Is it mileage, number of months? Or do you simply decree yourself no longer a beginner when you feel like it?

·
Registered
625 Posts
Some people have 30 years experience, and some people have 1 year repeated 30 times.

·
Two skinny J's
21,204 Posts
When you know the basics and feel comfotable with what you are doing and it takes no real thought?

·
Bent Newbie - old rider
144 Posts
I try to always have something at which I am a beginner - it keeps me young.

·
Registered
10 Posts
When do you stop being a beginner?.

The day you figure out all your biking advice comes from people who own $2000 bikes, $400 sun glasses, and you never see them outside of "The Cool" coffee shops.

Not thats there anything wrong with a $2000 bicycle!. I think you know the crowd I'm getting at..

·
Banned
1,508 Posts
When you take your riding seriously and not look like a drugstore racer, not saying you have to race to be serious but don't play the part of something your not. Look, just because can you spend $7k on a bike and wear $400 sunglasses doesn't make you a real rider any more then sitting in a $5m Formula 1 race car makes you race car driver. You can be a serious rider on a $500 bike, it's not about the money spent, it's about how well you ride. There are 80 year old guys riding the Alps on old 50's era 3 speed bikes...those guys are serious...it's not about the bike it's about you.

·
Registered
1,223 Posts