Out Lawing Geared and bikes with shocks from racing

Discussion in 'Mountain Biking' started by benny4130, Oct 17, 2009.

1. benny4130

benny4130 New Member

Does anyone else think bikes with gears and/or shocks should not be allowed in BMX races? I live in the north east so I am not sure that this happens everywhere. It's fine that someone uses a MTB bike for one race but every week. I mean WTF you can spend god knows how much for your dirt jumping mountain bike but can't pick up a used race bike for a couple hundred bucks. Anyone else out there with me.

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

You've confused me. Are you saying that your BMX track lets guys race on mountain bikes? Do those guys get spanked?

3. benny4130

benny4130 New Member

They use dirt jumping mountain bikes in the cruiser class. I took one around the track one day for fun but it is a bit smoother with the shock eating up some of the bumps after we had a rainy week and there are some inperfections in the track. Also clearing the jumps is easier if you learn to preload the fork and have it help you shoot you up.

4. Echihn

Echihn FreerideLife

Actually its perfectly legal. In fact, mongoose even made a 3 speed, 1 in rear travel bmx race frame in the mid 90's.

The reason DJ and slalom bikes are allowed in BMX is because it is classified under the "cruiser" class, which means any bike 24in tire or bigger. Now they should never be racing 20in bikes as that is a different class.

And no industry, they don't get spanked. I have no issue tearing a guy on a top end bmx cruiser up on my urban/4x bike. Whole ordeal is 4x is basically dh bmx racing. It's completely changed since dual slalom. Your seeing more hardtails and stiffer suspension now making the bikes actually feel better than the bmx counterparts.