Overhauling Wheel Bearings - Any advice???

Discussion in 'Road Bikes' started by whyeyebike, Nov 23, 2010.

1. whyeyebike

whyeyebike New Member

At the end of last winter, I started to notice a horrible noise coming from my rear wheel that through process of elimination, I have determined is coming from my hub. I have decided to take on the project of overhauling my wheel bearings since I have never done something like this before, and this is a good bike to start with (mainly because if I screw it up, I have a second set of wheels and a better bike I can use until the snow comes).

I was wondering if anyone had any advice for me. I have watched several videos on YouTube and I have all the necessary tools, with the exception of the actual bearings which I will hopefully pick up this weekend so I can take on this task this Sunday. I consider myself pretty mechanically inclined so I don't think this project will be over my head.

Any help, suggestions or warnings would be great.....thanks!!!!

2. ThinkBike

ThinkBike New Member

What can you tell us about the wheelset/hubs? New, old, abused, hardly used,few miles, lots of miles? Make and model? Are you a racer, weekend rider, commuter? Do you ride in the rain? Are there very few miles and little use and you're surprised your hubs need new bearings/grease? Are there lots of miles and you're thinking "wow, these lasted a long time"? If you have a set that's particularly difficult to overhaul, then some other riders with similar experience might be able to help. Need lots more info please.

3. gs46

gs46 Pedaling Old Man

Advice....when reinstalling the bearing races do not over tighten....I like to use a good teflon grease bought from the LBS....

4. whyeyebike

whyeyebike New Member