Panning for Gold

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by TxCyclist, Nov 12, 2009.

1. TxCyclist

TxCyclist Administrator Staff Member Admin Staff

Noticed several people here from CA, UT, ND, CO area.

Anyone pan for Gold before? Always been interested in trying it for fun.

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Nope. But I was married to a gold-digger.

3. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

Funny. I spent my childhood in Diamond mines. It was rough. I know you can get prospecting pans and other gear from Military Surplus stores. I'm trying to find a military issued Bicycle and I noticed they have kits for it at some stores. When I was a kid I tried it in Colorado at one of those pan for your treasure places that makes you sell them the gold you panned for at a reduced rate. If I hadn't been ten I would have been irate.

4. mtndoc

mtndoc New Member

I live about 15 miles from the spot where they discovered gold and started the Gold Rush in 1849, and yes I have panned for gold many times. I've gotten a little color from time to time, but mostly I just do it for fun. The geologists say they have only taken 15% of the gold from the American River, if so there is still tons left. If you want some hints on where the best places most likely to produce, let me know.

My 300th post, wow it went fast...

DrB

5. Grape Ape

Grape Ape Younger than Hack Tavern Member

Someone on Jeepforum asked the same question. Here is my post from over there.

My wife and I started panning back in 94. It was a reason to go into the backwoods. I wanted to wheel every weekend and panning for gold was a reason to go out in to the middle of nowhere.