parts swap?

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by chaco24, May 21, 2010.

1. chaco24

chaco24 New Member

Is it possible to take the wheels, fork, crankset, front and rear derailers off of a Trek Madone with a broken carbon fiber frame and transfer those parts to a different Trek bike, say an FX series?

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

The steerer tube may not be the right length, and the front derailleur may be a different size.

3. chaco24

chaco24 New Member

well so much for that idea.

4. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

5. chaco24

chaco24 New Member

6. camilo

camilo New Member

It's actually pretty straight forward to moving parts from one bike to another and actually a fun and "beginner-worthy" project for the most part. As mentioned, a couple of issues may be the fork and front derailleur. But neither are difficult to deal with, but may cost some money (or not). The other parts should go right over, with only the bottom bracket/crank requiring any special tools other than normal bike maintenance/adjustment tools (wrenches, allen keys, etc.). When you get to moving the BB/crank from old to new, sometimes it's cheapest and easiest just to farm that part out to a shop. The rest of the parts can be moved over and adjusted pretty easily if you're willing to read up on the parts you're not familair with (a good repair manual or one of many good websites).

For the fork, I don't know the Trek lines, and it may be a given that they all use the same type of fork. But potentially, there is a little more to it than just the steer tube length you need to verify.