Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
1,393 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Any riders on here compared speed on a paved trail over distance with the usual momentum stealers, little kids, crossings, stoplights - and riders that don't get over - vs riding on the road itself ??

I have been riding for three years on a hybrid - avg top average speed over distance 12.5-13.2 mph over 15-20 mph really pushing it - mostly limestone

recent road bike carbon convert - highest top speed over entire distance on paved trail - 14.6 over 30 miles - lots of momentum stealers and other bikers, crossings etc , and I am pushing it - no one passes me - well once or twice

but the averages I see on here are very high - do they include warm-up - is it faster on the road ??

My wife & I are loving the ride ! PS ride cadence 85-105 - don't look at the MPH till I am done - but some of the averages I see on here seem unreachable on paved trails - Like fox river trail - geneva to aurora

·
Registered
1,544 Posts
I ride considerably faster on roads than paved paths.
Don't compare your times with others here, some of them are really fast with cool bikes on flat terrain and years of experience. There may be a bit of 'puffing' as well. Going out for a quick 40 will never happen for me even if I had a powered bike. Compete with yourself & enjoy your improvement.
Start a blog or journal, something you can refer to and gloat to yourself.

·
348 Posts
That speed is consistent with what I'm averaging on a paved trail. Since it's just as hot at 6pm as it is at 2pm, I found if I went before people got off work, I didn't have to slow as much for the uninformed peds, dogs and salmon joggers. I like your euphemism "momentum stealers"!