Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey if you guys could give me some feedback im pretty new to cycling and i am more of a commuter to and from work. lately i have been pushing myself to go further and ride on my days off. Today i rode 37 miles with a total time of 2:31 min but the first 15 miles were rough with alot of headwind and i had 15 miles down in 1 hour and 25 min. on the way back i put in 20 miles in just under an hour about 59min or so. My question is that ok for a newbie and also. I love to ride and i felt great after the ride. No cramps at all. im 26 5'8 174lbs. Just seeing if this is an average time or is it embarrassing? also this is my first post so im looking forward to the responses...Thank. Happy Riding.:D

·
Two skinny J's
21,183 Posts
Welcome tech, Nothing wrong with 2.5 hrs on that ride, keep it up and your time will drop!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
cool thanks im sure i could of been a lot better ride if it wasn't so windy the first 15 miles.

·
Yesterday tired old man, Today retired old man
4,311 Posts
From my house to Tuckahoe bike shop and back is 37.5 miles for me 3.5 hrs ride time slow and old

·
Registered
243 Posts
well if you look at it this way, that's an average of 14.8 mph, with stop signs, traffic, and the occasional stop for water that's pretty quick! I've been riding for about 2 months now and I usually average around the low 15's So I'd say you're off to a great start!

·
Premium Member
3,198 Posts
I'd say that's good for one of your first longer rides. Also, it sounds like you had fun, which is the more important thing, IMO. Good to have you around here.

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
What's your goal? If it's just to get out and enjoy the fresh air, then you don't need to worry about times. If you want to improve your fitness and performance, then you have a good base to start.