Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What kind of drink do you feel re-vitalize you after a long ride? I use an alternative to Gatorade made by Shaklee, really restores my electrolytes.

·
No longer a newb!
177 Posts
Guinnesss! Seriously though, I am still looking myself. The last goop I tried tasted so awful that I couldn't drink it down.

·
Premium Member
3,198 Posts
I like the Endurox R4. Seems to be a good mix of carbs and protein, and it really seems to make a difference in how I feel the next day.

The flavors I have tried are pretty good (orange and lime). The only negative is it sometimes clumps up in the glass. In other words, it needs to be well stirred. Also, if I dump it in a water bottle after a ride, it seems to leave some chalky residue on the bottle.

·
Two skinny J's
21,193 Posts
I like this :D

Attachments

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
I'm not going to claim to be an expert, but I know the drink I use does contain carbs and it seems to do the job :)
I was soliciting opinions, so everyone gets to be their own expert. :D

What's most important is that it works for you. The reason I asked is that my wife is diabetic, and for her, hydration and carbs work best when they are taken separately.

·
Premium Member
3,198 Posts
I would say Carmichael is usually geared to at least avid recreational riders and/or competitive riders. Good point, Hack.

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Which brings us back to appropriate re-hydration. Spending a few hours riding along the beach paths in SoCal, or riding a half century might both take the same amount of time, but are vastly different when it comes to recovery.