Project Univega Nuovo Sport

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by Industry_Hack, Apr 14, 2011.

1. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

As promised, (threatened?) here's a couple shots of my project Univega. My guess is that the wheels will be off, and all parts but the frame will be in a box before I go to sleep tonight.

The plan is to strip the frame and then convince my neighbor to spray it, which will be a few steps up from a rattle can job, without spending a fortune. From there, I might just scrub it up and reassemble, replacing any bits as necessary. The main appeal is the lugs, which I might paint to contrast whatever color I settle on for the rest of the frame.

Attached Files:

2. Last_Place_Pete

Last_Place_Pete New Member

Looks like an awesome project bike... Definitely sounds like you got big things planned, good luck and +1!!

3. Industry_Hack

It took me an hour to get down to the frame. I only had to use a little nylon, and some time was wasted looking for my pin spanner to get the non-drive BB cup out. All the bearings are in great shape, and the grease didn't look bad. Because of that, I was careful to keep them all oriented so that I can just repack the bearings and put them back in the same side they came out of. What really impressed me is all the parts stamped Japan, and the quality and fit is so much nicer than a brand new bike from China. The cranks are beautiful too. Some aero hoods with bar end shifters, and I could see myself keeping this to tool around on.

4. bikebum1975

bikebum1975 Rat Biker

Nice old bike Hack friend of mine had one of those old rides.

5. Industry_Hack

I'm hoping to finish stripping the paint today.

6. bikebum1975

bikebum1975 Rat Biker

Look forward to seen the old ride done up I am gonna be pairing an old Panasonic 12 speed sport 1000 I got not sure on color choice as of yet always the tough part.

Are you gonna keep it the stock color or go custom?