Pros/Cons?

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by ebikejournalism, Sep 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ebikejournalism

ebikejournalism New Member

Hi, I'm a journalism student trying to find the pros and cons of owning an electric bike. What do you use it for?
    If you respond, PLEASE leave your full name!
    Any help is greatly appreciated. : )

2. Gandalfe

Gandalfe '57 Schwinn Wasp

Pros: Many around one less car on the road, uses no fuel, and planet freindly as there are almost no emissions.

Cons: Battery technology isn't there yet for strength, duration, and life of batteries. Battery replacements are expensive. Very few mechanics will work on them.

That's the long way saying I've sold my gen one and gen two eBike systems. I have replaced them with a Honda scooter. I use the scooter to commute 5 miles to work each day.

3. ebikejournalism

ebikejournalism New Member

I've heard a lot about the battery issue - hopefully it's something that will be improved. Thanks for your help! What is your first and last name? (I'm not publishing my article for journalism class it's just to hand in to the professor) : )

4. froze

froze Banned

Pros: no physical ability needed, they hum constantly, homers become your friends.
    Cons: no physical excercise, they hum constantly eventually driving you insane, can't go on dates with one, pick up lines with the chicks fail miserably, you look like a homer which goes back to failure with the ladies.

And no you can't have my real name, make one up the professor will never know anyways, besides most journalists make up stories or portions there of so now's a good time to practice.

5. Gandalfe

Gandalfe '57 Schwinn Wasp

"What 'chu sayin' Willis?" :rolleyes:

6. ViBiker

ViBiker Banned

EBike benefits!

Higher sustainable speeds.
    Normal bicycle function, plus!, motorcycle-like capability!
    A true Hybrid!

Best of all it uses no gas.