Purchasing a bike...

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by RGE, Jul 27, 2010.

1. RGE

RGE New Member

I'm a woman just starting to bike again after many, many years. I'm 5'11" and was directed towards mens bikes due to my height and leg length. I'm currently interested in the Raleigh Retroline 7. Can anyone suggest anything similar? I definitely want to purchase a retro style bike with not many gears. My husband and I will be using the bike on a very flat canal path without many hills.

Thanks for your help in advance!!!

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

If your legs/torso are proportioned like a man's, get a man's bike. Otherwise, they do make women's bikes in your size. When you say you don't want a lot of gears, how many do you want? There are plenty of cruiser style bikes with one, three, four, seven, or more gears. What's your budget, and what do you like about the Raleigh?

3. RGE

RGE New Member

Three gears would be ideal. When I sat on the Retroglide 7 it felt good and I fit on it nice but it's a bit expensive. I was hoping to find a bike for under $300...I just don't know what other bikes to compare this bike to. As you can probably guess I know nothing about bikes. My last new bike was 20 years ago.

4. photosbymark

photosbymark New Member

Well I would suggest you go to a bike shop that will let you take them for a test ride.