Question about Drafting in Cycling

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by funetical, Nov 2, 2009.

1. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

I've read about and seen it but I've always wondered how much energy you save by drafting. When watching competition cycling they talk about it like it decides races. So is it really that great?

2. Smiley

Smiley New Member

Yes it is. Just don't catch the tire in front of you...

3. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

The wind is one of your biggest enemies, so I suppose it can make a difference.

4. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

Have you ever done it though? So one "Yes it's great", one "eh it could be".

5. Smiley

Smiley New Member

Yes I have, once you catch the draft it is a huge help. When on the tandem, riders LOVED catching our draft. Riding in a group on the tandem we would go anywhere from 23 to 28 mph from different riders that were taking a pull. It helps. A lot. When on my single bike, when I caught the draft my work load was cut a lot. You can feel it.

6. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

See I never cycle with groups so there's no other way I would have known that. Thank you Smiley.

7. Smiley

Smiley New Member

No problem, it is a huge thing in our hard core cycling group. It is very cool to do.

8. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

My tandem was for off-road use. No one drafted us.

9. Smiley

Smiley New Member

I think that would be hard with a tandem Hack. No off roading on the tandem we used!

10. Xela

Xela New Member Tavern Member