Questions about seat adjustments

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by Last_Place_Pete, Apr 10, 2011.

1. Last_Place_Pete

Last_Place_Pete New Member

Still getting comfy on my old girl... What is the recommended seat height adjustment for road bikes (ex: where should my right knee be when the right pedal is at the absolute bottom of its stroke?) Similarly, is there a typical reference on how forward/back to adjust your seat for a good fit? Thanks again all!!

2. SprocketGirl

SprocketGirl spin... spin.. spin

this is the best pic i could find. it shows where the knee should be at 3 o'clock
    [​IMG]

3. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

At 6 o'clock, you should still have a bit of bend, but just a bit. Avoid over-extension. This is best accomplished in small increments.

4. Weav

Weav GiddyUp

I really like to use the fitting system that Competitive Cyclist has. It has you take alot of measurements of your body but once you plug them into their fit calculator they give you three different setups for your bike. I used this for my wife's new bike and fit her pretty close to comfortable. You might want to make some minor tweaks from there as you ride and figure out what works and what doesn't. Another site I pull fit information from is Jim Langley's website. Just google his name and you will find his site.

5. Tedzo

Tedzo Who put that curb there?