Rear derailleur rubs, shorten chain??????

Discussion in 'Mountain Biking' started by PellConq1, Jul 29, 2010.

1. PellConq1

PellConq1 Member

Mt. Fury Roadmaster - a set on Flickr

My pictures show a perfectly good Mt. Fury Roadmaster except for one thing. When the front sprocket is on the smaller two of the three front sprockets (and even some when it's on the other, just less), the derailleur rubs as shown in the picture (in other words, it's pinched up). So could the first step to solving the problem simply be:
    1) Take some links out of the chain (this is something I'm good at doing, I've done it on several bikes now).

Or is there some simpler way to fix the problem?
    Just curious.
    Enjoy.
    Pell http://www.twospoke.com/forum/images/smilies/smile.gif

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

I'm not following you. Are you cross-gearing? When on the inner chainrings, you should be on the largers cogs. When you are on the outer chainring, you should be on the smaller cogs. If you try to use a small chainring with a small cog, you will run into clearance issues.

3. PellConq1

PellConq1 Member

Derailleur pinched up reply

I haven't messed with anything yet on the Mt. Fury - at all. I was just commenting something like, "What would you do FIRST if you came across a Mt. Fury Roadmaster in a junkyard and it had the problem shown in the picture - ie. a rear derailleur with pulleys too close for comfort."

Anyway, I just read up on terminology on Wiki. So to rephrase the problem:
    On the rear derailleur, the tension pulley (the lower one) is too close to the guide pulley (the upper one).

So here goes for my dumbest attempt to fix:
    1) Cables too stretched, simply readjust the pinches of the cable (or more drastically, replace the cable or cut it shorter, just kidding, I wouldn't do that)?
    2) Chain too stretched (I don't mind taking links out of a chain provided I
    don't lose too many gears).