Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Gentle Puma
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, so I've decided to take this poor rusty bike and get it rideable again. Its got lots of dryrot and some rust. The grips with the gear changers are completely seized. Brake pads definitely need to be replaced, and tires and tubes a must.

What are essential tools for bicycle maintenance...besides beer. :p

Any suggestions on where to start would be great as well. Thanks.

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Park Tools website.
Sheldon Brown's website.
Double your initial estimate.

If this is for a Huffy, you really need to determine if you're spending more than the bike will ever be worth. On the plus side, decent tools are worth every penny.

·
retromike3
274 Posts
first things first.

When I start a major project like that the first thing I do is get a good sized box (about two by tree feet). Then I check to see I have all of the tools for the job. Wrenches, tire irons, allen wrenches spoke tools (don't forget zip ties for things like head sets) . Next do you have a place you can work on it and leave it there over night? a project that big will take more than a day.

I like to work with my bike hanging off the ceiling with a block and tackle. Lately I have been using a repair stand I got from Performance Cycle. Park makes a good home one also but even there "cheep" on is more than you will pay for a overhaul.

Next step is to take it down to the frame. What you are doing is what I used to call is a complete overhaul. You will need to have some other boxes and some mid size zip lock bags. Make sure they are pretty strong. So when you take the Derailleurs off you can put it in its own bag. same thing with all of the parts.

Sheldon's web-sight can give you the particulars. Harris Cyclery-West Newton, Massachusetts Bicycle Shop