Recumbent Trikes?

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by Casualcyclist, Oct 7, 2009.

1. Casualcyclist

Casualcyclist New Member

I have been reading about, and watching some videos on, recumbent trikes.

They look quite interesting.

Does anyone here have one?

I would be iterseted to hear about them.

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

I may be too young for one, (I sold my Honda Goldwing for the same reason) but I do like the tadpoles. And they're damn fast on flat ground.

3. Casualcyclist

Casualcyclist New Member

We won't tell my wife that, besides a Trek Navigator 3 WSD, she rides a 2004 GL1800A. She may have the bigger motorcycle of the two of us, but my FJR1300 is more fun;)

4. Industry_Hack

That's funny. I had the GL1800, sold it and got a Boulevard, then sold that and got a Sportster. The perfect scoot for leisurely rides around the lake, and tearing it up on all the twisties we have up in the mountains.

My girl has a Giant Boulder, and says we need to get a Spyder next. Not sure if she wants it for her, or for us.

What questions do you have about recumbents? And are you interested in two or three wheelers?

5. Casualcyclist

Casualcyclist New Member

My interest is in the trikes and its is puely academic, I am not about to run out and buy one any time soon.

However, I find the design and the mechanics of them interesting. I would love to take one out; I have not idea if I would like them or not for my own use.

I like to get informed on these sort of things in case of future need or interest.

6. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

I've always been curios. What's it like? I think I would enjoy it but the people in Austin who ride them seem to be elitist and scoff when I ask them simple things. Are they good commuter bikes? Do you have to be 60+ to purchase? Is it the same workout? Is the maintenance complicated? Do they make them, Tandem? Like I said I have questions.

7. Industry_Hack